Apparently, I am one of those people

blogging-1171731_640.jpg

Apparently, I am one of those people: who has a blog but never writes for it. This is so unlike me. I’m the kind of person who RSVPs to invitations way before the deadline and always tries to return a phone call or an email as soon as I can. So why did I post one short blog about The Gift, my first stand-alone short story, and then leave the website hanging?

I don’t know.

It’s not like I don’t have anything to say. My wife and son will tell you that I have a lot of opinions about a lot of things and am not afraid to share them. And the beauty of a blog is that anyone can stop reading whenever she gets bored, and I never have to know.

I’ve had other stories and even a novel to publicize between then and now. A blog would be a perfect place for that, right?

I love making keynotes which are essentially words and visuals on the same page driving to some important point. Basically, blogs for the workplace.

So again, I don’t know.

Maybe it was one of those things that you don’t do and don’t do and then it looms so large that you just push it away every time it comes up.

But I just spent a very happy afternoon reading Ann Patchett’s This is a Story of a Happy Marriage. The front flap describes the book as “a resonant portrait of a life in this collection of writings on love, friendship, work and art.” Basically, a very lucrative blog as most of the “writings” were also published in Vouge, Harpers, New York Times Magazine… you get the picture.

sparkler-839831_640.jpg

I’m not a fool. I know that even on my best day, I can’t come close to Patchett. There is a rhythm and a beauty to her writing that raises her above us mere mortals. But writing is more about practice than it is about publishing, and I need the practice.

So I hope you’ll bear with me as I do, and with a lot of luck, maybe someday, I’ll be publishing a new book. This is the Story of a Happy Blog.

 

2 thoughts on “Apparently, I am one of those people

Leave a Reply

